Jones appointed chair of Administrative Rules Review Committee

Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Rep. Megan Jones

DES MOINES — House Speaker Linda Upmeyer, R-Clear Lake, recently announced that Rep. Megan Jones, R-Sioux Rapids, will serve as the chairman of the Joint Administrative Rules Review Committee during the 88th General Assembly.

“Administrative rules are promulgated by agencies and departments and have an impact on Iowans from every aspect of government. This committee provides a check on those rules by the Legislature,” Jones said. “This is an important piece to the checks and balances system and I am proud to be chairing the committee and a part of that process.”

Jones has been a member of the Administrative Rules Review Committee since 2015 and most recently served as assistant majority leader in the Iowa House.

“Representative Jones is a tenacious leader who has shown a willingness to do the work necessary to hold state government accountable. I have no doubt that she will excel in this role,” Upmeyer said.

The legislative session begins Monday, Jan. 14.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: