Jones, Bowman to be honored for work on concussion bill

Friday, June 1, 2018
Rep. Megan Jones, R-Sioux Rapids

DES MOINES — The Iowa Athletic Trainers’ Society will be honoring State Rep. Megan Jones and State Sen. Tod Bowman with the Award of Merit today at the organization’s summer meeting and awards banquet at the West Des Moines Marriott.

The Award of Merit is the highest honor that the IATS can give to a non-athletic trainer. The recipient must have made significant contributions to the profession of athletic training through advocacy, clinical work, scholarship or service.

The organization noted Jones and Bowman have been consistent allies with the IATS in helping push legislation to improve the health and safety of athletes in Iowa. This partnership was vital this past legislative session to get HF 2442 passed and signed. HF 2442 improves the post-concussion care for high school athletes while also providing an incentive for high schools to provide health care providers on the sidelines of high school competitions.

“The state of Iowa is fortunate to have Representative Jones and Senator Bowman looking out for the safety of our physically active youth,” IATS President Brad Floy said. “We want to thank them for their commitment to youth sport safety and IATS looks forward to working with them in the future.”

"Being selected for this award is an honor,” Jones, a Republican from Sioux Rapids who represents Iowa’s 2nd District, said. “I am proud of the work that went into this bipartisan bill. Dr. (Rick) Wilkerson of Spencer was instrumental in starting this conversation. Many of our area schools set the standard for protecting student athletes- and much of that is attributable to Wilkerson and his team.”

Jones is serving her third term with the Iowa House of Representatives as a legislator for northwest Iowa. Bowman is serving his second term in the Iowa Senate representing northeast Iowa.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: