6 Strutters to appear with All-Iowa Honor Dance Team

Thursday, February 22, 2018
Six members of the Spencer High School Strutters have earned positions on the All Iowa Honor Dance Team this year. The all-state squad will perform on March 2-3 at the Girls State Basketball Tournament. Strutters who will be joining the All Iowa Honor Dance Team include Rowan Whitaker, Amber Kubat, Destiny Long, Caitlyn Holm, Zandra Zahrt and Mady Freeman.
Photo submitted

Forty teams qualified for the State Basketball Tournament after days, weeks and months of practice. Another championship caliber team that will show its talent Friday and Saturday has practiced just a few hours. That team is the All-Iowa Honor Dance Team, which has become a tradition at the Girls’ State Basketball Tournament. Joining the all-state dancers will be six members of the Spencer High School Strutters dance squad including Mady Freeman, Caitlyn Holm, Amber Kubat, Destiny Long, Rowan Whitaker and Zandra Zahrt.

All dance teams represented are members of the Iowa State Dance Team Association, and the dancers were chosen based on ability, attitude, dedication and leadership qualities. Auditions were held last fall at Ames Community Schools. After just hours of practice together, the students annually put on a show that is nationally recognized as one of the finest of its kind. Grand View University serves as the host for the Thursday and Friday rehearsals.

The pregame performance will include 50 dancers performing a patriotic salute. The halftime show will take place during the 3A championship game Saturday. The halftime group includes 224 dancers representing 88 Iowa high schools.

The IGHSAU salutes, for the 36th consecutive year, Kathy Enyart and the All-Iowa Honor Dance Team.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: