SHS continues strong speech tradition

Monday, January 22, 2018
Spencer High School senior Tim Steele and junior Levi Rees rehearse their Ensemble Acting piece, "Box and Cox," before their scheduled performance Saturday afternoon. (Photo by Colin Van Westen)

15 groups, 71 drama students qualify for Northwest Iowa State Speech Contest

Spencer High School's drama students competed at the District Large Group Speech Contest of the Iowa High School Speech Association held at Spencer High School on Saturday, Jan. 20.

Competing against 20 other high schools from Northwest Iowa, Spencer entered 17 groups in the contest. Of those 17, 15 groups, involving all 71 of Spencer's large group speech students, came home with an Excellent "I" rating, and two groups, involving six students earned a Good "II" rating. The groups receiving the "I"'s have now qualified to compete at the Northwest Iowa Regional State Contest, to be held at Le Mars Community High School on Saturday, Feb. 3.

Those groups receiving Excellent "I" Ratings were as follows:


"Asylum" performed by Alex Swanson, Kaitlyn Wolthuis, Makenna Richter, Allison Steele, Nayma Garcia, Cayle Peterson, Avarie Knaak, Maegan Olsen, Serenity Kollasch, Kyle Goeken, Caleb Cantrall, Ethan Johnson, Corine Noethe,David Holt, Addie Gilderhus, Chrissy Anderson, Jenna Morey, Elle Johnson,Otis Kierscht, Selena Schneider, Elliot Hudson (lights), Cheylee Arnold (sound), Noah Williams (follow spotlight), Emma Holst (makeup) Morgan Roberts (makeup)


"Iowa, Beautiful Land" performed by Natalie Jacobson, Jenna Schauer, Jadyn Allen, Kelly Izard, Grace Hamilton, Natalie Kroll, Zoe Carlson, Katie Halverson,Vanessa Reardon, Wren Vogelschmidt, Jace Wiemers, Alex Swanson, Charlie Zulk, Kyle Goeken, Austin Bryan


"Greater Tuna" performed by Jadyn Allen, Emma Schwarck, Molly Crew, Madison Miller, Sam Aalberts, Wil Heaton, Levi Rees, Austin Crew


"All That Fosse!" performed by Claire Christensen, Hallee Mingus Natalie Jacobson, Natalie Kroll, Molly Crew, Carly Izard

"Bonnie and Clyde" performed by Sam Aalberts, Delany Weeks, Austin Crew, Molly Schlitemeier, Tim Steele, Will Heaton


"Box and Cox" performed by Tim Steele and Levi Rees

"The Children's Hour" performed by Kelly Izard and Olivia Hamilton

"Kindertransport" performed by Hallee Mingus, Jenna Schauer, Maddison Miller, Molly Schlictemeier, Emma Schwarck


"Singing a Song That You Really Do Not Know the Words To"

performed by Mackenzie Connor, Lucas Kuehler, Sarah Elser

"Trapped In a Bad Dream" performed by Charlie Zulk, Austin Bryan, Darian Adkins


"Flipbook Frenzy" performed by Carly Izard, Zoe Carlson, Cayle Petersen, Nayma Garcia, Sarah Elser

"Fish Tales" performed by Tatum Cuttell, Makenna Richter, Otis Kierscht, Corine Noethe, Maegan Olsen


"A New Sense of Color" performed by Kaitlyn Wolthuis, Jacob Schichtemeier, Briseyda Rossales, Serenity Kollasch, Makenzie Connor, Emily Beehler, Quincy Schenk, Katie Halverson, Elliot Hudson

"Finis Lingua: Death of Language" performed by Andrew Bare, Jenna Morey, Chrissy Anderson. Addie Gilderhus, Emma Holst, Wren Vogelschmidt, Emma Schmidt, Jamie Tighe


"KBLK Radio" performed by Andrew Bare, Caleb Cantrall, Jamie Lauck, Zach Schoelerman, Vanessa Reardon, Briseyda Rossales, Darian Adkins, David Holt

The following groups received Good "II" Ratings


"Stuck in an Elevator with Someone Who 'Pops' Their Gum" performed by Ethan Johnson, Tatum Cuttell, Zach Schoelerman


"The Crafty Cavemen” performed by Emma Schmidt, Jamie Tighe and Morgan Roberts

Prior to competing at the Northwest Iowa State Contest at Le Mars on Feb. 3, all of Spencer's 17 groups will be showcased in a public performance entitled "Thursday Night Live!" at 6:30 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 1, in the new Spencer School Auditorium at 800 East Third St.

Large group speech is under the direction of Hall of Fame director Larry Untiet, who is assisted by Katie Kardell, musical theater director; Becky Koenig, radio broadcasting director; and student assistant directors Claire Christensen, Jenna Schauer, Hallee Mingus, Jadyn Allen, Emma Schwarck and Tim Steele.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: