Spencer schools to offer 21 teachers early retirement

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

The Spencer Community School District will offer early retirement to 21 teachers at the conclusion of the current school year. Early retirement would include a $50,000 payout over five years.

"We have annually offered an early retirement opportunity for certified staff," Spencer Community Schools Superintendent Terry Hemann said. "This year we have 21 certified staff that are eligible for early retirement. To qualify for early retirement a teacher must be a certified staff member with 10 years of full-time service with Spencer Community School District and must have reached the age of 55 on or before June 30, 2018."

The teachers eligible for early retirement this year are: Diane Maisenbach, Julie Riessen, Dale Waggoner, Beth Magnuson, Brenda Griffin, Kurt Schwarck, JoAnne McCullough, Marcia Klett, Luana Nair, Peggy Schimmer, Diana Koppen, Becky Conley, Janet Hoyt-Boyens, Kathy Druvenga, David Storm, Joan Kimball, Tori Storm, Becky Koenig, Kurt Bauermeiser, Sally Hamilton and Angie Ward.

Though the district is offering an early retirement option to 21 teachers, Spencer School Board member Bill Zinn said he did not expect a large number of teachers to take the package.

"I am going through this list and I don't anticipate a huge number (of early retirements)," Zinn said. "The teachers on this list love what they do."

Hemann agreed with Zinn.

"Financially, I can say we are not in a position where we need a huge savings through retirement," Hemann said. "The other thing that we have going on in our state, and really across the nation, is a teacher shortage. So having 10 or 16 teachers go is not really what we need to have happen right now. I don't see that. I don't see a lot of interest, but we might have a few."

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: