CCF Speedway hosts Hawkeye Dirt Tour

Monday, August 7, 2017
Several cars make contact with other upon the second restart during the 30-lap modified A feature at CCF Speedway Monday night. The Hawkeye Dirt Tour event slated 25 cars for the 30-lap race. (Photos by Nate Shaughnessy)

The big boy modifieds took center stage at CCF Speedway Monday night as the local track hosted the Hawkeye Dirt Tour in early August for the second year in a row, culminating in a 25-car, 30-lap modified A feature.

Hunter Marriott from Brookfield, Missouri, won the night, holding off Kelly Shyrock, of Fertile. Marriott also took the checkered flag during last yearís Hawkeye Dirt Tour even in Spencer. Both drivers made plenty of moves in the 30-lap finale as Marriot climbed his way to the top from seventh place and Shyrock moved all the way up from 15th.

However, Ploverís Mike Jergens was the biggest mover, fighting his way to fourth after starting in 19th.

Milfordís Eric Kinnetz (75) and Swea Cityís Matthew Looft (9) enter turn one neck-and-neck during the sportmod feature at CCF Speedway Monday night.

Spencerís Clayton Christensen helped himself in the main event as well, finishing in 13th after starting the race in 21st.

Other victors on the night included Lake Cityís Doug Smith in the sportmod feature. Smith held off Spencerís Zech Norgaard.

Derek Green, of Granada, Minnesota, claimed the stock car checkered flag. Spencerís Tom Sierek finished fifth after having the pole. Royalís Tom Hagedorn placed 14th.

Sioux Cityís Chris Abelson (1X) gets turned around in the corner during the modified A feature Monday night.

Chad Lonneman, of Adrian, Minnesota, came away with the hobby stock victory. Spencerís Brandon Nielsen finished fourth after starting in 14th while his brother Cody Nielsen got up to sixth after starting seventh. Brad Falline and Andrew Claus, both of Spencer as well, finished 12th and 13th respectively.

Spencer went one-two-three in the sport compact feature as local residents Cory Peters, Kaytee DeVries and Jared Gross top the top-three spots in the race.

The next event at CCF Speedway comes Sunday night. All IMCA classes will be running. Hot laps start at 5 p.m. with racing to follow.



FinishStartDriverHometownCar No.
17Hunter MarriottBrookfield, MO62
215Kelly ShyrockFertile, IA3X
31Ryan RuterKanawha, IA555
419Mike JergensPlover, IA37
512Tom Berry JrMedford, OR11X
610Chris MillsSioux City, IA02JR
73Tim WardHarcourt, IA4TW
86Clay MoneyPenokee, KS7
92Nick MeyerWhittemore, IA2
1020Joel RustGrundy Center, IA26J
1123Jacob MurrayHartford, IA48J
128Chris AbelsonSioux City, IA1X
1321Clayton ChristensenSpencer, IA1CC
1417Ethan DotsonBakersfield, CA175
155Tyler LimogesRedwood Falls, MN72
1622Corey BosmaEarly, IA07B
1725Chris PalsrokSibley, IAC5
189Stacey MillsWebb, IA10E
194Cody KnechtWhhittemore, IA49K
2024Jim MathiesonSioux City, IAM80
2114Jay NoteboomHinton, IA7N
2216Kyle BrownKellogg, IA21K
2318Kody ScholppEstevan, SK07
2413Kyle StricklerMooresville, NC8
2511Kevin EderAshland, WI24X


FinishStartDriverHometownCar No.
11Kyle StricklerMooresville, NC8
23Kelly ShyrockFertile, IA3X
34Ethan DotsonBakersfield, CA175
46Mike JergensPlover, IA37
58Clayton ChristensenSpencer, IA1CC
610Jason BrieseCleghorn, IA3
75Jason FisherLakefield, MN14
89James SlawsonSpirit Lake, IA17S
97Ricky StephanSouth Sioux City, NE25X
102Derrick BarglofSioux Rapids, IA25


Finish Start Driver HometownCar No.
12Jay NoteboomHinton, IA7N
21Kyle BrownKellogg, IA21K
35Kody ScholppEstevan, SK07
410Joel RustGrundy Center, IA26J
57Corey BosmaEarly, IA07B
63Chris PalsrokSibley, IAC5
78Josh BonnstetterSlayton, MN80
84D.J. ShannonMerced, CA32
96Jim MathiesonSioux City, IAM80
109Jacob MurrayHartford, IA48J


FinishStartDriverHometownCar No.
18Doug SmithLake City, IA12
26Zech NorgaardSpencer, IA14Z
34Matthew LooftSwea City, IA9
47Lucas LamberiesClintonville, WI0
55Colby FettAlgona, IA00
610Brady JoyntWebb, IA1AND
73Eric KinnetzMilford, IA75
89Matthew AndersonWebb, IA91A
914JJ HashbangerBonduel, WI69H
101Keith DemeyNewell, IA3D
1113Mike JensenSpencer, IA3
122Alec FettThompson, IA08
1312John ForemanN/A1J
1411Doug HoppeHull, IA17


FinishStartDriverHometownCar No.
12Derek GreenGranada, MN32
24Randy BrandsBoyden, IA27
36Jake MastersGraettinger, IA11
48David SmithLake City, IA8
51Tom SierekSpencer, IA56
614Zach OlivierSioux Falls, SD71
73Mathias LuxHartley, IA33M
85Mel ElsberryOrange City, IA5E
97Justin NehringStorm Lake, IA20N
1013Roger TrippSioux Rapids, IATNT
119Josh SuhrAlbert City, IA16
1215Travis SchuellerArmstrong, IA3S
1311Merle BassVarina, IA8B
1412Tom HagedornRoyal, IA1H
1510Max HofferSioux City, IA67X


FinishStartDriverHometownCar No.
16Chad LonnemanAdrian, MN117L
28Chanse HollatzClear Lake, IA6H
35Drew BarglofSioux Rapids, IA45
414Brandon NielsenSpencer, IAT8
53Darin JohnsonDickens, IA20J
67Cody NielsenSpencer, IA29N
74John BriggsCherokee, IA87
82Josh SidlesEmmetsburg, IA99
910Brady KlaassenLittle Rock, IA35K
1012Gavin JorgensonEmmetsburg, IA86
1113Owen SidlesN/A1
121Brad FallineSpencer, IA21B
1311Andrew ClausSpencer, IA7C
149Bryant JohnsonGraettinger, IA48J


FinishStartDriverHometownCar No.
12Cory PetersSpencer, IA5C
24Kaytee DevriesSpencer, IA8K
36Jared GrossSpencer, IA3R
47Riley PaysenN/A65
55Jay DevriesSpencer, IA8J
63Bubba BrownJackson, MN11A
79Danny RoseCherokee, IA80D
88Josh LoringDickens, IA512
91Ashlee KellyFairmont, MN27K
Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: