[Spencer Daily Reporter nameplate] Fair and Breezy ~ 88°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 44°F
Friday, May 6, 2016


Saturday, January 26, 2013

The Spencer Tigers wrestling team poses for pictures after winning its sixth-consecutive Lakes Conference tournament championship Friday night, Jan. 25, in Le Mars. It's on to Sectionals, followed by Districts for the Tigers in the upcoming weeks.
(Photo submitted)
Spencer wins 6th straight tournament, crowns four champs, three runners-up

Spencer won another Lakes title Friday night, its second in two weeks.

If you're counting, this is the sixth year in a row the Tigers have won the Lakes Conference tournament title. The consecutive dual titles are up to seven years in a row.

Spencer's Levi Gilmore battles for position against ELC's Oscar Ramirez during the 132-pound final at the Lakes Conference tournament in Le Mars on Friday, Jan. 25. Gilmore lost the match by fall to the undefeated Ramirez, but the Tigers won the team title.
(Photo by Kent Jones)
The Tigers dominated with seven wrestlers in the finals and four winners on their way to a 63-point win over Spirit Lake Park, 241.5-178.5. Trevor Streuli (113), John Christopherson (126), Tanner Schaefer (160) and Blaine Johnson (170) all won Lakes crowns Friday at Le Mars High School.

It was the fourth Lakes title for Christopherson, who is now 40-1 on the season. It was the second title for Streuli and Schaefer, and Johnson's first. Dylan Huntoon lost a close 3-2 decision to Le Mars' Nic Madsen, who Huntoon beat at the Spencer Invite in December.

Levi Gilmore, a two-time Lakes champ, was pinned by Oscar Ramirez of ELC, who improved to 32-0 on the season after the tournament. This was the second time Ramirez has beaten Gilmore this season. Bailey Hawn also earned a runner-up at 120, losing to two-time state champ Doug Miner of Spirit Lake Park.

Spencer's Dylan Huntoon works on Le Mars' Nic Madsen during the Lakes Conference final at 106 pounds. Madsen would edge Huntoon in a 3-2 decision, but the Tigers would claim their sixth-consecutive team title.
(Photo by Kent Jones)
To add to the team score, Spencer got two third-place finishes on the night. Tyson Samsel battled through the consolation bracket to claim third at 138, while Hunter Cauthron did the same in the 145-pound bracket to take home third.

Fourth place finishers were Jacob Sandvig (152), Pierce Jensen (182) and Casey Seversen (285). Ben Pingel (195) and Tony Botcher (220) took fifth place for the Tigers.

Postseason wrestling will start next Saturday, Feb. 2, at Cherokee, where the top two wrestlers in each weight division and top two teams will advance to Districts, which is Saturday, Feb. 9, in Spencer.



Team Scores

1. Spencer241.5
2. Spirit Lake Park178.5
3. Le Mars173
4. Emmetsburg153
5. ELC135.5
6. Cherokee127
7. Storm Lake115.5
8. Western Christian74

Top Three Finishers by Weight

106 - 1. Nic Madsen, Le Mars. 2. Dylan Huntoon, Spencer. 3. Drake Bechtel, Cherokee.

113 - 1. Trevor Streuli, Spencer. 2. Brett Steinkamp, Emmetsburg. 3. Matt Henning, Western.

120 - 1. Doug Miner, Spirit Lake. 2. Bailey Hawn, Spencer. 3. Tyler Carlson, Le Mars.

126 - 1. John Christopherson, Spencer. 2. Hunter Morrow, Cherokee. 3. Nicholas Merwald, Emmetsburg.

132 - 1. Oscar Ramirez, ELC. 2. Levi Gilmore, Spencer. Tyler Leuer, Emmetsburg.

138 - 1. Zach Skopec, Spirit Lake. 2. Skyler Gries, Le Mars. 3. Tyson Samsel, Spencer.

145 - 1. Kenten Murray, Spirit Lake. 2. Blake Gjerde, ELC. 3. Hunter Cauthron, Spencer.

152 - 1. Billy Snyder, ELC. 2. Juan Hernandez, Le Mars. 3. Cole Feltner, Storm Lake.

160 - 1. Tanner Schaefer, Spencer. 2. Noel Banuelous, Storm Lake. 3. Luke Zeieman, Cherokee.

170 - 1. Blaine Johnson, Spencer. 2. Javier Tapia, Spirit Lake. 3. Mason Meiztenhimer, Cherokee.

182 - 1. Andrew Wellik, Emmetsburg. 2. Adrian Castillo, Storm Lake. 3. Drew Hoekstra, Western.

195 - 1. Austin McCarten, Emmetsburg. 2. Brady Mart, Spirit Lake. 3. Chris Hiserote, Le Mars.

220 - 1. Tayler Wegner, Emmetsburg. 2. Chase Bonner, ELC. 3. Alex Hermes, Le Mars.

285 - 1. Michael Rosewall, Cherokee. 2. Tevita Moa-Lamp, Le Mars. 3. Cody Norton, Spirit Lake


106 - Dylan Huntoon - 2nd - lost a 3-2 decision to Nic Madsen.

113 - Trevor Streuli - 1st - pinned Brett Steinkamp, 2:25.

120 - Bailey Hawn - 2nd - lost by fall to Doug Miner, 0:59.

126 - John Christopherson - 1st - pinned Hunter Morrow, 2:52.

132 - Levi Gilmore - 2nd - lost by fall to Oscar Ramirez, 3:30.

138 - Tyson Samsel - 3rd - won a 7-2 decision over Andy Pitts for third.

145 - Hunter Cauthron - 3rd - pinned Tyler Hoffman, 1:26, for third.

152 - Jacob Sandvig - 4th - lost by fall to Cole Feltner, 0:46, for third place

160 - Tanner Schaefer - 1st - tech. fall over Noel Banuelous, 17-2

170 - Blaine Johnson - 1st - pinned Javier Tapia, 2:46.

182 - Pierce Jensen - 4th - lost by fall to Drew Hoekstra, 3:08, for third place.

195 - Ben Pingel - 5th - pinned Jose Acebedo, 1:29 for fifth

220 - Tony Botcher - 5th - received bye for fifth

285 - Casey Seversen - 4th - lost by fall to Cody Norton, 1:20, for third place.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: