[Spencer Daily Reporter nameplate] Fair ~ 61°F  
High: 83°F ~ Low: 60°F
Sunday, Aug. 31, 2014

Wrestlers split at East

Thursday, January 24, 2013

Spencer's Blaine Johnson pins Woodbury Central's Schuyler Rilling Tuesday night in the final regular season double dual of the year at Sioux City East. The Tigers lost to Woodbury Central and beat East to finish 19-6 in duals this season.
(Photo by Randy Cauthron) [Order this photo]
Tigers fall to No. 7 Woodbury Central, 45-30

Spencer's regular season in dual competition concluded Tuesday night with a split at East High School in Sioux City. The Tigers lost to No. 7 Woodbury Central (1A) 45-30 and defeated East High, 48-24. Spencer (No. 9 in 3A) finishes the season 19-6 in duals. The Lakes Conference tournament is Friday, Jan. 25 in Le Mars, followed by the beginning of postseason competition with Sectionals on Saturday, Feb. 2 in Cherokee.

In the first dual Tuesday night, Spencer led Woodbury Central 30-27 before dropping the final three matches by fall at 182, 195 and 220 pounds. The Tigers got six wins including John Christopherson's 7-6 decision over No. 5 Lane Nichols at 126 pounds. Dylan Huntoon, Levi Gilmore, Tanner Schaefer and Blaine Johnson all won by pin.

Spencer won nine matches in the 48-24 win over East, including seven by fall, forfeit or technical fall. Huntoon scored 11 points in the double dual wrestling at 106 and 113.

Schaefer, Gilmore, Johnson, Christopherson and Huntoon all were 2-0 on the night. Bailey Hawn lost a 6-5 decision to Woodbury's Gable Verschoor, who placed fourth at 106 last year as a freshman.



Spencer 48, Sioux City East 24

106 -- Dylan Huntoon (S) tech. fall over Larry Vore Jr., 17-2, 4:00

113 -- Skyler Stamps (E) major dec. over Christian Ferrendelli, 15-1

120 -- Bailey Hawn (S) pinned Scott Jones, 0:36

126 -- John Christopherson (S) won by forfeit

132 -- Levi Gilmore (S) pinned Steven Zellmer, 1:56

138 -- Casey Coon (E) major dec. over Mason Bartley, 13-3

145 -- Josh Schambach (E) major dec. over Hunter Cauthron, 12-4

152 -- Drake Swedlund (E) pinned Jacob Sandvig, 1:55

160 -- Tanner Schaefer (S) major dec. over Mitchell Otto, 16-5

170 -- Blaine Johnson (S) pinned Manny Zertuche, 2:49

182 -- Pierce Jensen (S) pinned Brandon Zermeno, 2:26

195 -- Calvin Buchanan (E) pinned Ben Pingel, 4:43

220 -- Dustin Meyeraan (S) pinned Brandon Cabney, 2:37

285 -- Casey Seversen (S) won by decision over Kedrick French, 6-4

Woodbury Central 45, Spencer 30

285 -- Landan Paulsen (WC) pinned Casey Seversen, 2:34

106 -- Dylan Muckey (WC) pinned Daniel Wilkerson, 2:59

113 -- Dylan Huntoon (S) pinned Shane Funk, 1:30

120 -- Gable Verschoor (WC) won by decision over Bailey Hawn, 6-5

126 -- John Christopherson (S) won by decision over Lane Nichols, 7-6

132 -- Matt Curry (S) won by decision over Kobey Gray, 6-3

138 -- Levi Gilmore (S) pinned Logan Beller, 1:20

145 -- Luke Klingensmith (WC) pinned Hunter Cauthron, 3:58

152 -- Jake Mize (WC) pinned Jacob Sandvig, 1:02

160 -- Tanner Schaefer (S) pinned Reed Mitchell, 1:45

170 -- Blaine Johnson (S) pinned Schuyler Rilling, 5:15

182 -- Zach Klingensmith (WC) pinned Pierce Jensen, 5:15

195 -- Andrew Petersen (WC) pinned Ben Pingel, 2:38

220 -- Levi Paulsen (WC) pinned Dustin Meyeraan, 3:30

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration. If you already have an account on this site, enter your username and password below. Otherwise, click here to register.


Password:  (Forgot your password?)

Your comments:
Please be respectful of others and try to stay on topic.