[Spencer Daily Reporter nameplate] Fair ~ 77°F  
High: 77°F ~ Low: 53°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

ILCC soccer awards night

Friday, December 28, 2012

Iowa Lakes freshman Lizzy Rasmussen took home team MVP honors for the women's team at their year-end banquet in Spencer. The Laker women went 15-6 this season.
(File photo) [Order this photo]
A total of 13 student-athletes received awards at the Iowa Lakes men's and women's soccer teams' year-end gathering at Legends Events and Social Center in Spencer.

This was the second year with the Lakers for head coach Ammon Bennett and assistant Sheena Van Roekel, while it was the first year for graduate assistant Kyle King. Some awards were based on player input, while others were decided upon by the coaches.

The Laker women finished with a winning record for the second consecutive season, ending up 15-6. They set a school record for wins in the third year of the program, along with numerous offensive school records.

"The team had a memorable season, setting several college records," Bennett said. "The season concluded with the Lakers playing for the Region Championship."

Bennett is looking forward to the future and to developing some of the freshmen who saw significant playing time this season.

"Iowa Lakes will look to continue to build on this success with several key players returning for the 2013 season," Bennett said.

On the men's side, it was a tougher season.

"The Iowa Lakes men's team struggled to a 7-15 record but did enjoy a 4-game win streak during the season," Bennett said. "The men's team will be looking to add several players for the 2013 season and does return several key players."

During the evening, student-athletes completing their second year at Iowa Lakes received medals. There were six from the women's team and two for the men.

ILCC Soccer Team Awards


Team MVP - Lizzy Rasmussen (Farmington, Utah)

Offensive MVP - Brooke Saxton (North Ogden, Utah)

Defensive MVP - Natasha Lichfield (Corrine, Utah)

"Coaches" award - Tarah Hunt (Orange City), Brittney Valentine (Layton, Utah)

Most Improved - Dania Rodriguez (Salt Lake City), Danielle Bills (West Jordan, Utah)


Team MVP - Erick Browne (Dublin, Ireland)

Offensive MVP - Peter Funaro (Sandy, Utah)

Defensive MVP - Rodrigo Galvan (West Jordan, Utah)

"Coaches" award - Richard Nolasco (Ogden, Utah), Arisitides Mejia, Jared Rowell.

Most Improved - Jared Rowell (Millville, Utah)


Brittney Valentine

Natasha Lichfield

Jill Brockbant (West Jordan, Utah)

Dani Hutson (Idaho Falls, Idaho)

Salena Ramos (Brigham City, Utah)

Cortnee Sanchez (Brigham City, Utah)

Jared Rowell

Arisitides Mejia (West Valley City, Utah)

Tanner Collins (Hyrum, Utah)

Dillan Mathys (Providence, Utah)

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: