[Spencer Daily Reporter nameplate] Fair and Breezy ~ 65°F  
High: 66°F ~ Low: 53°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Johnson, Smith receive legislative responsibilities

Saturday, December 15, 2012

Rep. Jeff Smith
DES MOINES - Senate Republicans named their ranking members for standing and budget committees this week.

Sen. David Johnson (R-Ocheyedan) was named the ranking member of the Senate Human Resources Committee for the 2013 Legislative Session, which convenes on Jan. 14, 2013.

He will also serve on the Senate Education and Natural Resources and Environment committees.

Sen. David Johnson
"As a state senator, David Johnson is a great asset to the Republican team as well as the committees he serves upon," Senate Republican Leader Bill Dix (R-Shell Rock) said.

House Speaker Kraig Paulsen (R-Hiawatha) appointed Rep. Jeff Smith (R-Okoboji) to the House Administration and Rules, Administrative Rules Review, Commerce, Environmental Protection and Natural Resources committees.

He will also serve as the chairman of the Ethics Committee and was recently re-elected by his peers to serve as a House Assistant Majority Leader.

"Rep. Smith will protect the pocketbooks of Iowa taxpayers," Paulsen said. "Under his leadership, the state will move forward, putting Iowans back to work and creating a pro-business climate for employers."

Smith will be serving his second term in the House.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: