Wrestling: Tigers win big over E'burg, Western

Friday, December 14, 2012
Spencer's John Christopherson pins Emmetsburg's Chance Saathoff in the first period Thursday night during the 132-pound match. Spencer beat Emmetsburg, 58-21, and Western Christian, 63-15. (Photo by Zach Jevne)

Emmetsburg started out Thursday's Lakes Conference dual versus Spencer with four straight wins.

That's all they would score.

Starting with a Casey Seversen pin at 285, Spencer went on to blank the E-Hawks the rest of the way for a 58-21 win at Western Christian High School to continue its Lakes dual dominance. The Tigers lost just three matches to Western for a 63-15 win to improve to 6-0 in duals this season, and 4-0 in the conference - extending Spencer's Lakes dual winning streak to 42.

Emmetsburg opened with a 6-2 decision by Nick Schany over Blaine Johnson and got first-period pins from top-ranked Andrew Wellik, last year's third-place winner Austin McCarten, and Taylor Wegner to take a 21-0 lead. Seversen reversed Tanner Dahm after being nearly pinned to score the fall and jumpstart the Tigers.

"The momentum was huge," Spencer coach David Schaefer said. "The pin Casey got stopped the bleeding and really turned the tide. The guys jumped on it - pins can be addictive. We liked how we came back and responded with guys picking up other guys. It was a good dual win."

Dylan Huntoon followed the lead at 106 with a quick 34-second pin, then Spencer won three matches (113, 120, 126) by forfeit to pull ahead in team points for good. John Christopherson, Levi Gilmore, Adam Johnson and Hunter Cauthron all pinned their opponents as the Tigers finished with six pins on the night. Cauthron recorded the fastest pin over Joe Schmidt at 152 pounds - nine seconds.

Tanner Schaefer beat Brady Bailey, 11-1, to close out the dual.

"Emmetsburg will be a tough team when the conference tournament rolls around," Schaefer added.

In the second dual, Spencer won by forfeit eight times against Western Christian, and got pins from Schaefer and Johnson. Trevor Streuli also won an 11-4 decision over Matt Henning at 113 pounds.

Spencer will host its annual invitational this Saturday, Dec. 15, starting at 11 a.m. at the Spencer Field House. Eight schools will compete, including ELC, Le Mars, Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley, Lawton-Bronson, West Lyon, Sioux Center and Sibley-Ocheyedan.



Spencer 58, Emmetsburg 21

170 - Nick Schany (E) won by decision over Blaine Johnson, 6-20-3
182 - Andrew Wellik (E) pinned Pierce Jensen, 1:310-9
195 - Austin McCarten (E) pinned Ben Pingel, 0:540-15
220 - Taylor Wegner (E) pinned Tony Botcher, 1:160-21
285 - Casey Seversen (S) pinned Tanner Dahm, 3:066-21
106 - Dylan Huntoon (S) pinned Dillon VanOosbree, 0:3412-21
113 - Trevor Streuli (S) won by forfeit18-21
120 - Bailey Hawn (S) won by forfeit24-21
126 - Seth Hill-Anderson (S) won by forfeit30-21
132 - John Christopherson (S) pinned Chance Saathoff, 0:4236-21
138 - Levi Gilmore (S) pinned Chris Van Heuvelen, 1:4642-21
145 - Adam Johnson (S) pinned Caige Elbert, 1:0048-21
152 - Hunter Cauthron (S) pinned Joe Schmidt, 0:0954-21
160 - Tanner Schaefer (S) won by major decision over Brady Bailey, 11-158-21

Spencer 63, Western Christian 15

182 - Drew Hoekstra (W) pinned Pierce Jensen, 1:490-6
195 - Joe Bootsma (W) won by decision over Ben Pingel, 6-30-9
220 - Tony Botcher (S) won by forfeit6-9
285 - Casey Seversen (S) won by forfeit12-9

106 - Dylan Huntoon (S) won by forefeit 18-9

113 - Trevor Streuli (S) won by decision over Matt Henning, 21-9

120 - Bailey Hawn (S) won by forfeit27-9
126 - John Christopherson (S) won by forfeit33-9
132 - Nick Gross (S) won by forfeit39-9
138 - Levi Gilmore (S) won by forfeit45-9
145 - Adam Johnson (S) won by forfeit51-9
152 - Zach DeJager (W) pinned Hunter Cauthron, 1:1351-15
160 - Tanner Schaefer (S) pinned Jacob VanGinkel, 0:4657-15
170 - Blaine Johnson (S) pinned David Weidauer, 2:1663-15
Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: