Cross Country: Lady Tigers win 2nd in a row

Wednesday, October 3, 2012
Spencer's Cierra Guerrero won the Eagle Grove Invitational Tuesday evening. The Spencer girls also won the team title, by 20 points over Algona. (File photo by Michael Fischer)

The Spencer girls won their second meet in as many weeks after claiming the Eagle Grove Invitiational title Tuesday evening. The Lady Tigers won in Algona last week. The Spencer girls are ranked 12th in 3A by the Iowa Track Coaches Association.

Cierra Guerrero won the girls race in 15:49. Kendra Bauermeister took 11th, Daly Tighe 14th, Kari Kramer 16th and Sara Bauermeister 21st as the Lady Tigers continue to produce strong performances as the season winds down.

"We ran outstanding. The best we've run all year," girls coach Kurt Bauermeister said. "We're hitting at the right time. We're at our top-level with our performance and each week we continue progressing."

Ryan Bauermeister took second in the boys race, finishing in 16:15. Matt Behrens turned in a top-10 finish in 17:07 (9th). The Spencer boys finished in sixth place with 123 points. Gilbert won the boys side with 79, edging out Garner-Hayfield (85) and St. Edmond Fort Dodge (87). Spencer was without Levi Gilmore for Tuesday's race due to a minor injury. Gilbert's Thomas Pollard won the boys race.

The Lakes Conference meet is next week - Tuesday, Oct. 9 in Storm Lake, followed by the State Qualifying Meet, which will be held at Spencer Municipal Golf Course on Thursday, Oct. 18.

"We got a good taste of what the conference and district meets will be like," Jared Davis said. "We need to move our pack up from our 3-5 runners. If we can do that we can be competitive."




1. Spencer63
2. Algona83
3. Gilbert99
4. Garner-Hayfield/West Hancock110
5. ELC124
6. Clear Lake130
7. South Hardin161
8. Humboldt178
9. St. Edmond, Ft. Dodge203
10. Clarion-Goldfield269


1. Cierra Guerrero15:49
11. Kendra Bauermeister16:41
14. Daly Tighe16:50
16. Kari Kramer16:53
21. Sara Bauermeister17:20
33. Claire Eagan17:52
36. Emily Coldren18:14


1. Gilbert79
2. Garner-Hayfield85
3. St. Edmond87
4. Algona98
5. Clear Lake100
6. Spencer123
7. Humboldt135
8. South Hardin179
9. ELC226


2. Ryan Bauermeister16:15
9. Matt Behrens17:07

29. Andrew Eisenbacher 18:05

41. Jacob Krei18:40
42. Tanner Viedenkamp18:44
54. Nick Gross19:25
58. Trevor Streuli20:11
Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: