[Spencer Daily Reporter nameplate] Overcast ~ 46°F  
High: 48°F ~ Low: 42°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Iowa High School State Softball

Saturday, July 21, 2012

Warren County may have the state's softball bragging rights this year.

Martensdale-St. Marys and Indianola, both located in the county directly south of Polk County, won its respective class's championship in Fort Dodge on Friday.

M-St.-M took the 1A title with an 11-inning victory over Earlham, 1-0. A bunt by Emma Ferin would scored the winning, and only, run of the game to propel the Blue Devils to the extra-inning win. Martensdale-St. Marys (41-2) needed extra innings to make the title game, a 2-1 win over Charter Oak-Ute in eight innings on Thursday.

Indianola (31-11) won class 4A later in the day with a 1-0 win over Dallas Center-Grimes. The Indians collected just two hits in the game but a Cass Burris double to start the sixth inning would provide the winning run. Indianola advanced by beating No. 1-ranked Clear Creek-Amana in the semifinals, 3-0.

Ankeny (39-6) won Class 5A with a 2-0 victory over Des Moines East. Ankeny head coach Amy Farmer coached her final game for the Hawkettes as she announced her resignation earlier this season to take an assistant principal position at Burlington next year. Ankeny finished runner-up last year.

In Class 3A, Lakes Conference co-champions Estherville Lincoln Central finished in fourth place after losing the consolation game to Bondurant-Farrar, 2-1. Ballard (35-9) beat Solon in the title game, 5-4. Solon beat ELC in the semifinals, 1-0.

Treynor (28-5) took Class 2A with a 4-0 win over Des Moines Christian. Emmetsburg, who tied ELC for a share of the Lakes title this year, finished seventh at the tournament after a 2-1 win over Wayne in the consolation round.

Four of the five title games ended in a shutout.




Championship - Martensdale-St. Marys 1, Earlham 0 (11 inn.)

3rd place - Don Bosco 9, Charter Oak-Ute 8

5th place - Marquette Catholic 4, Gehlen Catholic 2 (8 inn.)

7th place - Newell-Fonda 6, Newman Catholic 1


Championship - Treynor 4, Des Moines Christian 0

3rd place - Durant 11, Sumner-Fredricksburg 6

5th place - Van Meter 2, Denver 1

7th place - Emmetsburg 2, Wayne 1


Championship - Ballard 5, Solon 4

3rd place - Bondurant-Farrar 2, Estherville Lincoln Central 1

5th place - East Marshall 3, Mid-Prairie 0

7th place - Assumption 10, Waukon 0


Championship - Indianola 1, Dallas Center-Grimes 0

3rd place - Clear Creek-Amana 6, Washington 2

5th place - Carlisle 2, Winterset 1

7th place - West Delaware 5, Bishop Heelan 4


Championship - Ankeny 2, Des Moines East 0

3rd place - Pleasant Valley 5, Iowa City West 2

5th place - Dowling Catholic 2, Ottumwa 1

7th place - Davenport West 8, Marshalltown 0

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: