[Spencer Daily Reporter nameplate] Fair ~ 17°F  
Feels like: 10°F
Wednesday, Dec. 17, 2014


Thursday, May 17, 2012 ~ Updated 1:40 PM

The Iowa State Track Meet is underway from Drake Stadium in Des Moines today through Saturday.
(Photos by Zach Jevne)

Spencer's Taylor Glover chases Davenport Assumption's Rose Ripslinger during the open 400 timed final Thursday afternoon at Drake Stadium. Glover finished fourth in 58.71. Ripslinger took second behind Assumption teammate Maddie Irmen.
Spencer junior Taylor Glover earned a fourth-place finish in the timed final of the 400-meter dash Thursday at Drake Stadium with a time of 58.71. Running in Heat 3, Glover finished just tenths-of-a-second behind two-time champ Maddie Irmen of Davenport Assumption and Rose Ripslinger, also of Assumption. MOC-Floyd Valley's Alexis Conaway took third.

The Spencer girls qualified for the finals in the 3A shuttle hurdle relay, turning in the eighth-best time with 1:09.57. Mt. Pleasant is the top seed and set a new 3A state meet record in 1:05.84.

Ryan Bauermeister became the first Tiger to place with an eighth-place finish in the boys 3A 3,200 meter run (9:54.19).

The Okoboji boys shuttle hurdle team qualified for the Saturday final with the best time in 2A. Sioux Central placed third in the prelims. Spencer took 18th in the 3A shuttle hurdles


3A Girls Shuttle Hurdle Relay - Prelims

Heat 6 - 1. Spencer (Kelli Kramer, Ashley Mahrt, Ali Meister, Karis Rhode), 1:09.57 (Qualified for finals). 2. Crestwood, 1:10.06. Norwalk, DQ. Decorah, DQ.

3A Shuttle Hurdle Finals - Girls (Saturday, 11:15 a.m.)

1. Mt. Pleasant, 1:05.84.*new 3A record. 2. Pella, 1:08.09. 3. Clear Creek-Amana, 1:08.09. 4. Harlan, 1:08.26. 5. Solon, 1:08.56. 6. Dubuque Wahlert, 1:09.06. 7. Center Point, 1:09.11. 8. Spencer, 1:09.59.

3A Girls 3,000 Meters - Final

Kelli Kramer during the first leg of the shuttle hurdle relay, which qualified for the finals.
1. Anna Holdiman, Waverly, 10:06.34.

15. Cierra Guerrero, Spencer, 11:13.98.

16. Dondi Schmidt, Spirit Lake Park, 11:20.37.

3A Boys 3,200 Meters - Final

1. Zach Bucheit, Pella, 9:26.03.

8. Ryan Bauermeister, Spencer, 9:54.19.

14. Fernando Ramos, Storm Lake, 10:15.94.

3A Girls 4x800 Relay - Timed Final

(official results not yet available)

3A Boys 4x800 Relay - Timed Final

1. Decorah, 7:56.34. 2 Spirit Lake Park (Keith Byers, Kayne Feldick, Kevin Martinson, Will Norris), 8:00.43. 12. Spencer (Blake Altenhofen, Jake Krei, Austin Helmink, Jack Randall), 8:22.00.

3A Girls 400 Meter Dash - Timed Final

1. Maddie Irman, Assumption, 57.57. 2. Rose Ripslinger, Assumption, 57.99. 3. Alexis Conaway, MOC-FV, 58.40. 4. Taylor Glover, Spencer, 58.71. 5. Betsy Duehr, Wahlert, 59.39. 10. Taylor Sieperda, SLP, 1:00.38.

Spencer's Ryan Bauermeister finished eighth in the 3,200 meters Thursday morning. [Order this photo]
3A Boys Shuttle Hurdle - Prelims

1. Pella, 58.73. 2. Western Dubuque, 58.80. 3. Mt. Pleasant, 59.30. 4. Maquoketa, 1:00.00. 5. Norwalk, 1:00.02. 6. New Hampton, 1:00.11. 7. Algona, 1:00.43. 8. Marion, 1:00.54.

18. Spencer (Derek Freeman, Cody Mowery, Tyson Samsel, Tanner Logan), 1:02.11.

Spencer's Jake Krei trails Dallas Center-Grimes' Austin Grosklags during the second leg of the 3A boys 4x800 relay timed final Thursday. Spencer finished fourth in Heat 1 and 12th overall. [Order this photo]
2A Girls 4x800 Relay - Timed Final

1. Jesup, 9:40.25. 2. Western Christian, 9:45.93. 13. Sioux Central (Morgan Walker, Callie Buske, Brandy Richards, Rachel Hamilton), 10:10.90.

2A Girls Long Jump - Final

1. Heaven Chandler, Columbus Junction, 18-01 1/4.

7. Taylor Fahnlander, Sioux Central, 16-10.

2A Boys Shuttle Hurdle - Prelims (Finals, Saturday, 11:40 a.m.)

1. Okoboji (Alex Koepp, Chris Albright, Dalton Syverson, Zach Jones), 59.17. 2. Dyersville Beckman, 59.38. 3. Sioux Central (Ethan Lindquist, Brad Ripke, Tanner Perrigo, Nick Wittmaack), 59.43. 4. West Fork, 59.97. 5. West Branch, 1:00.33. 6. North Polk, 1:00.33. 7. Ridge View, 1:00.34. 8. Dike-New Hartford, 1:00.53.

3A Girls 200 Meter Dash - Prelims

1. Rose Ripslinger, Assumption, 25.78. 11. Taylor Sieperda, SLP, 26.95.

2A Boys Shot Put - Final

1. Avery Meyers, West Liberty, 58-02 3/4. 14. Jacob Sauter, Okoboji, 48-04 1/2.

3A Boys Discus - Final

1. Tyler Hovey, Atlantic, 187-09. *new 3A state record. 2. Ethan Kenkel, Storm Lake, 180-00.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration. If you already have an account on this site, enter your username and password below. Otherwise, click here to register.


Password:  (Forgot your password?)

Your comments:
Please be respectful of others and try to stay on topic.