[Spencer Daily Reporter nameplate] Fair ~ 83°F  
High: 86°F ~ Low: 64°F
Tuesday, July 26, 2016

Sixty-nine SHS speech students advance to state

Saturday, January 28, 2012

The Spencer High School One Act Play "Alice" received a "I" rating at the Large Group Speech event last weekend, and will be among the acts featured at the Northwest Iowa State Contest in Spencer, Saturday, Feb. 4.
(Photo by Gabe Licht)
Spencer High School drama students competed in the district contest of the Iowa High School Speech Association for Large Group Speech on Saturday, Jan. 21 at Okoboji High School..

The Spencer students, going up against students from 16 other northwest Iowa high schools, came away with 14 Excellent "I" ratings and four Good "II" ratings. The 14 groups receiving "I" ratings earned the right to advance and compete in the Northwest Iowa State Contest to be held here at Spencer High School on Saturday, Feb. 4.

At the state level, students will also be competing for the coveted "Outstanding Performance Award, which earn them a trip to the "Super State" All-State Festival to be held at Iowa State University in Ames on Feb. 17 and 18.

Those groups receiving Excellent "I" ratings at the district contest include:

One Act Play - "Alice" - Performed by Connor Obermeier,Lauren Sather Rachel Sather, Madison Raska, Sarah Rutt,Shelby McCord,Courtney Upah,Maggie Doyle, Mallory Rustad, Ann Lovig, Taylor Wiemers, Sarah Studer, Nikki Johnson, Lindsay Hassman, Jordan Hansen, Allie Helmink, Beth Halverson, Hannah Zulk, Elizabeth Glover, Morgan Merrill, Josh Hinrichsen, Lauren Schwarck, Megan Phillips, Lynde Harken, Kelsey Morisch, Sean McCord, Dellis Beaver, Andrew Noah, John Culver, John Quail and Lydia Slattery. Behind the scenes people: Amber Ellis, Jesse Woock, Jack O'Hara, Amanda Ripley, Shelby McCord, Sean McCord and Leah Rekow.

Choral Reading - "There's A Helpful Smile in Every Aisle ... Food, Glorius Food!" - Performed by: Sonie Thompson, Kady Groen, Leah Rekow, Rachel Dole, Katlyn Moore, Brianne Hassman, Cayla Cunningham, Alecia Olson, Olivia Baxter, Luke Kaldahl, Kyle Winterboer, Wil Boyens, John Culver, Alex Halverson and Connor Obermeier.

Readers' Theatre - "The $39 Man" - Performed by Kevin Grimes, Miles Fletcher, Wil Boyens, Daly Tighe, Leah Rekow and Sonie Thompson

Group Mime - "Huff'n and Puff'n with the 3 Pigs!" - Performed by Madison Raska, Maddie Conley, Sarah Jackson and Bryan Lovan

Group Mime - "The Crafty Caveman" Performed by Lindsey Hassman, Shelby McCord and Monica Rustad

Group Mime - "The Fishing Fiasco" - Performed by Taylor Weimers, Sara Studer, Nikki Johnson and Jordan Hansen

Solo Mime - "The Elusive Rope" - Performed by Daniel Moore

Musical Theatre - "The Lion King" - Performed by Rachel Dole, Alecia Olson, Dellis Beaver, Ryan Crew, Wes Merrill and Mathew Sather

Musical Theatre - "Annie" - Performed by Daly Tighe, Kady Groen, Katlyn Moore, Rachel Sather, Lauren Sather and Hannah Zulk

Ensemble Acting - "Where Have All The Lightning Bugs Done?" - Performed by Kevin Grimes and Brianne Hassman

Ensemble Acting - "The Star Spangled Girl" - Performed by Miles Fletcher and Cayla Cunningham

Group Improvisation - "Hiking At Night" - Performed by Daniel Moore, Jacob Freeman and Andrew Noah

Group Improvisation - "Pushing A Car Out Of A Snow Bank" - Performed by Tory Soma, Monica Rustad and Lydia Slattery

Short Film - "Imaginarium" - John Quail, Micke Hietala, Sean McCord, Amber Ellis, Jacob Freeman, Morgan Merrill, Josh Hinrichsen, Jake Norman, Lauren Schwarck, Megan Phillips, Lynde Harken, Kelsey Morisch and Ann Lovig

These four groups received a Good "II" Rating:

Solo Mime - "The Monsterous Mishap" - Performed by Courtney Upah

Solo Mime - "The Circle of Life" - Performed by Sarah Rutt

Group Improvisation - "You Are The Newest Superheroes" - Performed by Brandt Roskens, Beth Halverson and Bryan Lovan

Ensemble Acting - "Box and Cox" - Performed by Luke Kaldahl and Kyle Winterboer

Large Group Speech is under the direction of Larry Untiet, who is assisted by Katie Kardell, Musical Theatre director; Jennifer Hansel, choreographer; Eric Meeter, Short Film director; and student assistant directors: Alex Halverson, Monica Rustad, Jesse Barnes,Tiara Caleb and Jenna Barnes.

Thursday Night Live!

All of the Spencer High School rated groups will give a public performance at "Thursday Night Live!" at 7 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 2, at the old Spencer Middle School Auditorium.

Note: The nature of the Internet makes it impractical for our staff to review every comment. If you feel that a comment is offensive, please Login or Create an account first, and then you will be able to flag a comment as objectionable. Please also note that those who post comments on spencerdailyreporter.com may do so using a screen name, which may or may not reflect a website user's actual name. Readers should be careful not to assign comments to real people who may have names similar to screen names. Refrain from obscenity in your comments, and to keep discussions civil, don't say anything in a way your grandmother would be ashamed to read.

Fabulous! Break a leg!!

-- Posted by a-thought-or-two on Mon, Jan 30, 2012, at 11:24 AM

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: